Why Join MCWCF


The MCWCF provides workers’ compensation insurance, claims servicing and safety training to public agencies throughout the state of Michigan. We have more than 80 members in our nonprofit pool, including counties, villages, libraries, courthouses, transit authorities and other government-funded entities.

MCWCF has been in operation since 1979 and continues to experience stable operation and growth each year. Our members benefit from our services, grants and dividends, and enjoy having a community resource that knows and understands the needs of public agencies.


Big Savings. Members that take advantage of the services offered by MCWCF often see a reduction in claims around their operations. Additionally, our members enjoy yearly dividends that average nearly $4 million.

Loss Prevention Grants. In 2014, we launched our Loss Prevention Grants Program, which allows our member entities to invest in employee safety. For example, the Tuscola County Sherriff’s Department used their grant to purchase new utility vests for their officers. We’ve awarded over $220,000 to MCWCF members to increase safety and prevent losses around the workplace.

Personal Service. You won’t find automated recordings here. Whether face-to-face or just a phone call away, our focus is to accurately identify your needs and find solutions. We put time and effort into knowing your business so we can best serve you.


  • Claims Management
  • Account Management and Service Team
  • Managed Care Services
  • Metrics and Reporting
  • Disease Management
  • Nurse Care Management
  • Health Statement Management
  • Return-to-Work Facilitation and Support
  • Independent Medical Evaluations
  • Utilization Review
  • Vocational Rehabilitation
  • Safety and Loss Prevention Consultation
  • Risk Management Training and Education
  • Online Training Modules — counts for one hour of continuing education credit for CSP, OHST and CHSTs who attend.


“Interurban Transit Authority has been a member of MAC since October 2014. We chose MCWCF over commercial insurance mainly for the cost savings. We have insurance pool experience dating back to 1990 so I was pleased to find this option for our workers’ compensation coverage. In this short period of time, I have been selected as a grant recipient, met with the loss prevention consultant, downloaded safety webinars and received our first dividend. We look forward to continuing our membership for many years to come.” — Phyllis Yff, Executive Director at Interurban Transit Authority in Allegan CountyTHANK YOU! I’m so happy for my staff (and their backs)! — Michelle Robbins, Director, Chippewa County Central Dispatch – Emergency ManagementAt MCWCF, you aren’t joining a fund, but a team. All the resources of fund — for loss prevention, for service questions — are devoted to the team. On top of that, of course, the dividend payments make the fund more than affordable. Branch County agencies alone, since 2008, have received more than $750,000 in dividends from the fund. — Dale Swift, (former) Branch County commissionerThank you for working with Otsego County on the Michigan Counties Workers’ Compensation Fund 2014 Loss Prevention Grants Program. We purchased several ergonomic chairs through the grant. I have already noticed a reduction in the stiffness of my back and shoulders after a long day in front of my computer. I can see where this will really make a difference for me long-term. I hope this grant can be continued in the future. — Rachel Frisch, Otsego County administrator

Member List

  • Alger County
  • Allegan District Library
  • Antrim County
  • Arenac County
  • Barry County
  • Battle Creek Housing Commission
  • Bayanet
  • Benzie County
  • Benzie Transportation Authority
  • Blue Water
  • Branch County
  • Branch County District Library
  • Branch County Medical Care Facility (Maple Lawn)
  • C.C.E Central Dispatch Authority
  • Central Upper Peninsula Planning & Development
  • Cheboygan County
  • Chikaming Township
  • Chippewa County
  • Clinton County
  • Coloma Township
  • Crawford County
  • Delta Area Transportation Authority
  • Delta County
  • Delta/Menominee District Health Department
  • Dickinson County
  • District Health Department #10
  • Edwardsburg, Village of
  • Emmet County
  • Ferndale Housing Commission
  • Gladwin County
  • Gogebic County
  • Gogebic County Community Mental Health Authority
  • Gogebic County Transit
  • Grant Township
  • Gratiot County
  • Huron-Clinton Metropolitan Authority
  • Interurban Transit Authority
  • Ionia County
  • Isabella Co. Transportation Commission
  • Isabella County
  • Isabella County Medical Care Facility
  • Kalkaska County
  • Kalkaska County Public Transit Authority
  • Keweenaw County
  • Lake County/Lake County Clerk
  • Leoni Township
  • LifeWays
  • Livingston County
  • Livingston County Mental Health
  • Luce County
  • Luce County Ambulance Services
  • Mackinac County
  • Manistee County
  • Martha T. Berry Medical Care Facility
  • Mason/Oceana Co. Enhanced 911
  • Mecosta County
  • Menomonee County
  • Monroe Housing Commission
  • Newaygo County
  • Newaygo County Medical Care Facility
  • Oceana County
  • Ontonagon County
  • Ontwa Township Edwardsburg Police Dept.
  • Osceola County
  • Oscoda County
  • Otsego County
  • Otsego County Commission on Aging
  • Otsego County Judicial System – 87th District Court
  • Otsego County Library
  • Pentwater, Village of
  • Roscommon County
  • Roscommon County Transportation Authority
  • Sanilac County
  • Sanilac County Medical Care Facility
  • Sanilac County Mental Health Authority
  • Sanilac County Transportation, Inc.
  • Schoolcraft County
  • St. Clair County Community Mental Health Authority
  • Straits Area Narcotics Enforcement (SANE)
  • Tuscola County
  • Upward Talent
  • Wayland Area EMS
  • Wexford County
  • White Cloud Area Fire Department